Happy Birthday, Michael Hutchence

It’s Michael Hutchence’s birthday today which is fitting since Kylie Minogue once called Hutchence “Byronesque” (also funny since Hutchence played Percy Shelley on flim).

Meeting Michael Hutchence was one of the most thrilling moments of my life. I was 18 years old, onstage in front of tens of thousands of people – they had just started playing their last song of the night, ‘Suicide Blonde’, only five or six of us went up onstage, Gary Gary Beers (guitarist) danced with me first and then Michael came up to me and danced with me… When the song was over, the mics and stage lights were turned off, everyone left the stage except for Michael and I. He kept me with him, he hugged me, talked to me for a few minutes, and then he kissed me – and hugged me once more, and said goodnight. He was so lovely and soft spoken. I’ll never forget that night. I was very sad to hear of his death later that year. He was such a lovely person.

 

Image Credit: Michael Hutchence as Percy Shelley, Frankenstein Unbound.

Leave a Reply

