Underground

Underground

Pushed through like grapes in a juicer

I lose ten pounds

Elbows introduce me

To that rude pretty boy

from Westminster

He thinks his striped suit makes him fancy

I think he’s a monkey with spiked hair

The magic stairs transport us

To the secret world of tubes

Packed in like nachos

Arms flail again

Zoom, dim, cough

Fluorescents flicker

I like the dirt down here

Flood gates open

Mind the Gap

Rushing bodies go back up

Leaving the station

I can breathe again

That makes me sad

by Brandy Anderson

3 thoughts on “Underground

Leave a Reply

